Ireland Premier Division 2023 Stadiums

The Irish Premier Division is the top tier of football of the League of Ireland. Featuring ten teams, it has operated as a summer league since 2003. The presence of the Northern Ireland-based club Derry City makes the league a cross-border competition.

In this article, we will find out the stadiums that will host this tournament.

Irish Premier Division 2023 Stadiums

The Tallaght Stadium is located in Dublin. It has a capacity of 8,000 which will be increased to 10,000 this summer after the installation of a new 4th stand. It is the biggest venue in the league. The stadium opened in 2009, and since then it is the home stadium of Shamrock Rovers. The club is the most successful in the league with 20 titles.  In 2011, Shamrock became the first Irish team to qualify to the group stage of any European competition.

The Dalymount Park is a football stadium in Dublin with a capacity of 4,500. Since its opening in 1901, it is the home of Bohemians FC. The club has 103 appearances in the Irish Premier Division, the most of any other team in the country. They are competing in the first division contantly since 1921. They have clinched the title 11 times.

dalymount park

The Turners Cross is a football stadium in the city of Cork. It opened at the end of the 19th century and is the home to Cork City. In 2009, it became the first all-seated stadium in Ireland which reduced the capacity to 7,485. Cork City FC has 37 appearances in the 1st division, having won the title 3 times.

Turners Cross

The Weavers Park, also known as United Park, is a football stadium in Drogheda, Ireland. The ground has been home to Drogheda United since 1979. The club has won the title once in 47 appearances.

weavers park

The Oriel Park is located in Dundalk, Ireland, and has a capacity of 4,500. It opened in 1919 and since 1936 it is the home ground of Dundalk F.C. They are the second most successful club in the League’s history with 14 league titles in 89 seasons in the top division. Dundalk is the only club in Ireland to have won a game in the group stage of a European competition.

The Richmond Park is a football stadium in Dublin, opened in 1925. It is the home ground of Saint Patrick’s Athletic. The club is a constant participant in the 1st division since 1951. They have won the title 9 times.

richmonds park

The Tolka Park is a football ground located in north Dublin. Opened in the 1920s it is the home ground of Shelbourne F.C. since 1950. The club has won the title 13 times in 88 appearances in the top flight.

Tolka Park

The Showgrounds is a stadium in Sligo, which has been home to Sligo Rovers since Rovers were formed in 1928. The club has won the title 3 times in 71 appearances in the League of Ireland.

The Snowgrounds

The UCD Bowl is a rugby union football stadium that is owned by the University College Dublin. It is used by the University’s football club, UCD. This is the only club in the league that has never won the title in 29 seasons in the top division.

ucd bowl

The Ryan McBride Brandywell Stadium is a football stadium in Derry, Northern Ireland. Opened in 1928, with a capacity of 7,700, it is the home ground of Derry City FC. Derry City is the only club from Northern Ireland to participate in the League of Ireland, starting from 1985. Since then the club has won 2 titles in 36 appearances in the League.

Brandywell Stadium


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *