Football Stadiums that Host League Games of Another Country

There are thousands of football clubs spread across the globe but only a few of them are playing in football competitions in another country.

In this article, we are going to take a look at the football stadiums that host the matches of a league in a different country.

Football Stadiums that Host League Games of Another Country

The Cardiff City Stadium hosts the home games of the Welsh club, Cardiff City.  The team joined English football in 1920 and is the only team from outside England to have won the FA Cup in 1927. Cardiff has spent 17 seasons in the top tier of English football.


The second most successful Welsh team in England is Swansea FC. The team joined English football in 1920 and since then they have played in the top division 9 times. Swansea won the League Cup in 2011. They have been playing their home games at Stadium. Stadium

The 3rd Welsh team in the English Football League system is Wrexham A.F.C. The club has spent most of its history in lower leagues and has 4 appearances in the 2nd division. They have been playing in Racecourse Ground since 1864.

Racecourse Ground

The Rodney Parade in Newport, Wales is the 4th stadium in the country that hosts games for the English Football League system. It is the home of Newport County FC who competes in the English 4th division. They have only one appearance in the English 2nd division.

Rodney Parade

Derry City, based in Northern Ireland, competes in the Republic of Ireland’s domestic league system since 1985. They have won the Ireland Premier Division twice. They have played their games in Brandywell Stadium since 1928.

derry city stadium

In spite of being based in the microstate of Andorra, the club has been allowed to compete in Spanish leagues since 1948. The club plays its games in the national stadium of Andorra. Since 2022 they are playing in the Segunda Division.

andorra stadium

The Rheinpark Stadion is the national stadium of Liechtenstein. It hosts the games of Vaduz who started playing in Switzerland in 1933. The club, which now competes in the second, division has 5 appearances in the Swiss Super League.

vaduz stadium

AS Monaco FC, located in the tiny principality of Monaco, competes in the French football league system. Although Monaco is not a French club, they are one of the most successful clubs in French football, having won the league title eight times. They were also runner-ups in the 2004 Champions League. They play their home games in the only stadium in Monaco, Stade Louis-II.
The Wellington Phoenix has represented New Zealand in the Australian A-League since 2007 without ever winning a title. They play their games at Wellington Regional Stadium.
The BMO Field in Toronto hosts the games of Toronto FC in the MLS in the USA. Toronto FC became the league’s first Canadian-based franchise when it joined MLS as an expansion team in 2007 and the 1st to win the MLS Cup in 2017.
The BC Place hosts the home games of Vancouver Whitecaps FC. The Canadian side joined MLS in 2011.

The third Canadian team to compete in MLS is CF Montréal. The club began play in the MLS in 2012. They are using Saputo Stadium as their home stadium. Stadium

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *