Belgian Pro League Stadiums 2023-2024

The Belgian Pro League (officially the Jupiler Pro League), is the top league competition for association football clubs in Belgium.

The 2023–24 Belgian Pro League will be the 121st season of the tournament.

In this article we will have a look at their stadiums.

Belgian Pro League Stadiums 2023-2024

The Constant Vanden Stock Stadium is one of the oldest Belgian stadiums as it was opened in 1917 in Brussels. The stadium has hosted a semifinal in the 1972 Euro. It has a capacity of 22,500 and it is the home of Anderlecht. The club has won the title 34 times and it is the most successful Belgian team in the European competitions with 5 trophies. They have been playing in the first division continuously since 1935.

anderlecht stadiums

The Bosuilstadion opened in 1923 in the city of Antwerp and has been the home of Royal Antwerp ever since. It currently is reconstructed and has a capacity of 16,100. The stadium hosted the 1964 European Cup Winners’ Cup and one semifinal of the UEFA Euro 1972. Royal Antwerp are the current Belgian champions. They have won the title another 4 times. The club is the most recent Belgian team to have reached a UEFA competition final, the 1993 European Cup Winners’ Cup Final.

antwerp stadium

The Jan Breydel Stadium opened in 1975 and has a capacity of 29,000. It was one of the venues for the UEFA Euro 2000. It is the home stadium of Club Brugge and Cercle Brugge. Club Brugge has won the title 18 times and is the only Belgian team to reach a European Cup final in 1978. On the other hand, Cercle has won the title 3 times with the last being in 1930.

Jan Breydel Stadium

The Stade du Pays de Charleroi opened just before the Euro 2000 where it hosted 3 group games. The original capacity was 30,000 which is now reduced to 15,000. It serves as the home to Charleroi SC who were the runners-up in the 1968–69 season.

charleroi stadiu

The Kehrwegstadion opened in 1947 and has a capacity of 8,300. It is the home of Eupen. The club’s highest position ever in the 12th place in the 2020-2021 season.

The Cegeka Arena has a capacity of 23,700 and it is the largest football stadium in Belgium. It opened in 1999 and since then it has been the home stadium of KRC Genk. The club has won the Belgian Pro League 4 times.

Genk Stadium

The Ghelamco Arena opened in 2013 and can hold 20,000 people. It hosts the home matches of football club K.A.A. Gent. The club has won the title in 2015.

gent stadium

The Guldensporen Stadion opened in 1947 and has a capacity of 9,400. It is the home of K.V. Kortrijk. The club’s best-ever performance in the League is the 4th place in the 2009–10 season.

The AFAS Stadion has a capacity of 16,600 and is the home of KV Mechelen. They have won four Belgian championships, as well as the 1987–88 European Cup Winners’ Cup.

The Den Dreef opened in 2002 and has a capacity of 10,000. It is the home of Oud-Heverlee Leuven. The club’s best ever performance in the top league is the 10th place which was achieved last year.

leuven stadium

The Edmond Machtens Stadium has a capacity of 12,200 and will host the games of the newly promoted side, R.W.D. Molenbeek.

molenbeek stadium

The Stayen was originally built in 1927 and has a capacity of 14,600. Since its opening it has been the home stadium of Sint-Truidense V.V. Their best ranking was the second place in the 1965–1966 season.

The biggest stadium in the league with a capacity of 30,000 is Stade Maurice Dufrasne, home of Standard Liege. The stadium hosted one match at Euro 1972 and three matches at Euro 2000. Standard has won the Belgian league on ten occasions. They have also been in the top flight without interruption since 1921, longer than any other Belgian side.

standrard stadium

One of the oldest stadiums in Belgium is the Joseph Marien Stadium. The stadium holds 9,400 people and was opened in 1919. The stadium hosted some of the football games for the 1920 Summer Olympics. It is the home of Royale Union Saint-Gilloise. The club won eleven Belgian championships between 1904 and 1935.

union sg stadiums

The smallest stadium in the League with a capacity of 8,000 is the Het Kuipje. It is the home of  KVC Westerlo. Their highest finish is the 6th place on 3 occasions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *