Berlin Football Stadiums 2023-2024 – 1st to 5th Division

Berlin, the vibrant capital of Germany, is not only known for its rich history and cultural attractions but also for its passion for football. From the iconic Olympiastadion to lesser-known venues like Friedrich Ludwig Jahn Sportpark, each stadium holds a unique history.

In this article will guide you through Berlin’s football stadiums across all five divisions of the German football league system.

Berlin Football Stadiums 2023-2024

The biggest stadium in Berlin with a capacity of 74,400 is the Olympiastadion. It was originally built for the 1936 Summer Olympics. The stadium has hosted games for 2 world cups including the final in 2006. It has also hosted the 2015 Champions League final and the German Cup final is also hosted in the stadium every year. Since 1963, it has been the home of the Hertha BSC which currently competes in the Bundesliga 2.


The second largest stadium in Berlin with a capacity of 22,000 is the Stadium An der Alten Försterei. It is the biggest football-specific stadium in the city and since its inauguration in 1920, it has served as the home ground of the Bundesliga side FC Union Berlin.

Stadion An der Alten Försterei

With a capacity of 19,000 the Friedrich Ludwig Jahn Sportpark is the 3rd largest stadium in Berlin. It opened in 1952 and in its history it has hosted several football teams in Berlin. VSG Altglienicke of the 4th tier Regionalliga are the current tenants.

Friedrich Ludwig Jahn Sportpark

The Mommsenstadion opened in 1930 and with a total capacity of 15,000, it is the 4th largest stadium in Berlin. The stadium hosted games for the 1936 Olympics where it could hold up to 37,000 people. Currently, it is the home of the ex-Bundesliga team Tennis Borussia Berlin which now competes in the 5th tier of the German football.


Another historic stadium in Berlin is the Poststadion. The stadium today holds 10,000 spectators and at its peak, it held up to 45,000 spectators. It opened in 1929 and in 1934 it hosted the German championship final. Several football matches during the 1936 Summer Olympics were also held at the Poststadion. It is now the home of Berliner AK 07 of the Regionalliga.


With a capacity of 9,900, the Hans Zoschke Stadium is the second largest football-specific stadium in Berlin after the An der Alten Försterei stadium. It opened in 1952 and is the home of SV Lichtenberg 47. The club competes in the German 5th division.


The Dynamo stadium in the Sportforum Hohenschönhausen is another venue in Berlin that hosts games for the Germany 4th division as it is the home of Berliner FC Dynamo. The stadium opened in 1954 with an original capacity of 20,000 which is now reduced to 7,800. Dynamo was one of the most successful clubs in East Germany with 10 champions.

dynamo stadium

The Olympic Park Amateur Stadium opened in 2004 and has space for 5,400 spectators. It hosts the games of the Hertha reserve team which competes in the Regionalliga.

The Stadion Lichterfelde opened in 1924 and has a capacity of 4,500. It serves as the home to Viktoria 1889 Berlin who competes in the German 4th division.

Berlin Stadiums in Oberliga (5th Division)

The Ernst Reuter Sportfeld has a capacity of 4,500 and serves as the home to Hertha Zehlendorf.

The Julius Hirsch Sportanlage has a capacity of 3,500 and is the home of Makkabi Berlin.

The Werner Seelenbinder Sports Park opened in 1930 and now has a capacity of 3,500. It is the home of the 5th division team, Tasmania Berlin. The team has played in the 1965-1966 German Bundesliga.

The Sportplatz Sömmeringstraße has a capacity of 3,000 and is the home of the CFC Hertha 06 which competes in the 5th division.

The Sportplatz Am Rosenhag has a capacity of 2,500 and is the home of Eintracht Mahlsdorf.

The Sportpark Staaken has a capacity of 1,500 and is the home of SC Staaken 1919.

The Sportplatz Fischerstraße has a capacity of 1,000 and is the home of SV Sparta Lichtenberg.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *